top of page

The Bedouin's Mind

my little poetic endeavours


I peer back to look in my mind’s eye

and as if a mirror to my restless soul

All that I see a dreary desert , devoid of life

Dry as the land cracked open by drought


Still like the shadows on a moonless night

that dance and flicker with every fire

And when tempests ruffle the sand into sandstorms

clog up the judgement of my mind's eye


As dunes stay tonight, change the morrow dawn

so ne'er do stay my midnight musings

And like a Bedouin’s thirsty travels

I trudge through my mind’s dreary desert


Hoping each orange horizon, that an oasis arrives

The eternal search for my soul’s oasis

Whereupon I see a few trees of emotion

One palm for happiness, one for peace , another for love


And yet this oasis, deceives me each dawn

What I see is a mere mirage, luring me to seek but sand

And yet hope never ends, my travels never end

This long voyage in my mind’s eye - Amlan

Comments


bottom of page